01684 292 215

The Abbey Tea Rooms
59 Church Street

"Good home cooking, all fresh vegetables"

Kate
21/08/16
“Sunday lunch delight”
Amongst the fascinating memorablia of an earlier age, we had a lovely Sunday lunch, with excellent service. My nut roast was moist and thoroughly delicious. The pudding was also very nice.
GillDawes
22/07/16
“Perfect!”
Have visited today, meeting up with family I had never met before. It was perfect! So much nostalgia, beautiful garden, attentive staff and quality food. What more good we have wanted....thank you!
Jean
14/05/16
“Afternoon tea”
We visited Tewkesbury on our way back from holiday in Hampshire and stopped off for a delightful afternoon tea at Abbey Tea Rooms. The decor was definitely different and very nostalgic. The service was very friendly and the afternoon tea with warm scone, clotted cream, jam and strawberries was very tasty. The pot of tea contained two cups each and was very hot, not like the lukewarm tasteless tea that other places tend to provide. My husband had pea, mint and ham soup, again very tasty. A delightful place to visit and we will be back to visit again.
Jenny
24/04/16
“Wonderful experience”
Travelling back from Devon last week we called at Abby Tearooms after recommendation from friends. What a lovely surprise! We had a lovely lunch and were given a very warm welcome by the owners. We cannot recommend too highly and can' t wait for a return visit.
JennyG
29/03/16
“Birthday celebrations”
Booked the Abbey tea rooms for high tea for a birthday celebration for my mom. Sandwiches and cakes were all of a excellent quality and so much choice. We struggled to finish it all! Would definitely recommend! Thank you.
Hillin
10/03/16
“Wonderful back in time ”
Brilliant tea rooms. Nice music. Fabulous food. Very relaxing. Lovely location. Just opposite the Abbey. Short walk from car parks and town
Sarah
10/02/16
“Wonderfully eccentric....”
Living locally to the Abbey Tea Rooms I pop in there as often as I have the time to...it's cosy, quaint, very "English" and absolutely rammed with stuff that makes you go "blimey, I remember those from when I was a kid". The proprietors are always cheerful and welcoming and the food is lovely. Treat yourself to an "Abbey Team Rooms Special"...... always super fresh and probably as much food on a plate as you'll get anywhere for ten quid!
Mishabuddy
21/01/16
“Fabulous Old Fashioned Tea Shop”
After a wonderful visit to the Abbey itself what better way to warm up on a cold rainy day than to go to a tea room. This is a very old fashioned tea room split into 2 rooms. We were a party of 13 and on arrival we could not be accommodated together. However, as soon as this became possible the staff offered to move us to be together. the whole place is covered in memorabilia from old 78rpm records to toys from the 50's and 60's to old magazines and old cleaning products. No matter where you looked there was something to say 'I had one of those' or 'I remember that'. The tea and coffee was hot and fresh; the cakes and scones and sandwiches were freshly made as ordered. We did not try a hot meal but looking at what was being served to other customers they certainly looked good..
LindaH
01/11/15
Add “Lovely high tea ”
Excellent variety of sandwiches & cakes, scones were really tasty too. A perfect way to spend the afternoon in a relaxed environment. Really friendly staff. Lots of items from the past, really interesting stuff. Will definitely return in the near future.
Anon12321
12/09/15
“Top Notch Place”
We came here for just a quick cup of coffee, but it ended up being a full on meal. All the sanwiches on offer looked divine, but we couldnt turn down the scones, so we settled for their Abbey Tea Room Specials. We asked the young waitress for sandwiches which werent listed under the Abbey Tea Room Special section, and they didnt have a problem doing it for us. The drinks were served quickly and were to an outstanding standard, and the food quickly followed. The scones there are to die for, and the ham was thick and absolutely fabulous. We couldn't fault the service or the food, our one downfall, we didnt have enough room to try the whole menu, so it's safe to say we will be back soon!
P.S. We couldnt help but over hear that they have won gold 3 times on the trot, in Britain In Bloom, well deserved for this slice of heaven!!!.
Malprosser
02/08/15
“Great tea rooms, wonderful high tea”
Recently it was a special birthday so decided to take my family to the Abbey Tea Rooms after researching various hotels etc., There were 6 ladies and 2 little girls, the high tea was excellent, everything was fresh and looked amazing, it is by far the best high tea I have had. Ian and his staff were helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend the Abbey Tea Rooms to anyone visiting Tewkesbury.
TheFirrs
25/07/15
“Brilliant Vintage Experience- Try it!”
Had a lovely breakfast at this tea rooms. Food excellent and good value for money.
I think you have to say however it's the decor of literally thousands of vintage items which make this place unique it really is quite amazing.
I would also comment on the lovely owners who both had a good chat with us after our breakfast and gave some invaluable local advice which we took them up in in terms of places to visit which was very welcome!
ChazMill
01/06/15
A“Unique Experience.”
I, and my group of pre-wedding ushers, can thoroughly recommend the Abbey Tea Rooms, for a most heartening breakfast, the warmest of welcomes, and a fascinating adventure into English history. The walls are literally plastered with an astonishing collection of memorabilia - allow extra time to do it justice. (And make sure you also visit their outdoor lavatories, accessed via a charming back garden, a prize winner in itself.)
The hosts Ian and Pixie could not be more friendly or accommodating. Highly recommended
BarryU
05/05/15
“WOW!”
Nothing will prepare you for this café! When you enter your senses are bombarded by ephemera of all descriptions - you have to visit to believe. The service and food was first class, my wife had a cream tea with home made jams, I had a very good sandwich. Oh, before I forget, visit the toilet!
PaulineS
21/01/15
“Astounded! An awayday enjoyable experience”
Popped in to this tea room for afternoon fruit tea and dessert. The warm and welcoming staff offered an extensive menu. There were nostalgic visual delights under glass on the tables and covering the walls. More pieces could be seen hanging from the ceiling of this quaint venue. A really interesting visit stimulated discussion at this cosy venue.
Paddyg4444
19/01/15
“Best cream teas outside of cornwall!”
Wow... Just wow! A little gem.

Great service. Vast memorabilia. Perfect ambiance. Tasty food. Quirky decor. What more do you want?

We went for the cream teas - which are not to be missed. Tea served in a china teapot and cups, with a huge heap of strawberry jam and clotted cream which were more than generous portions. A selection of scones too. 

Perfect.
bueller_11
11/01/15
“WOW!”
We were on the way home from a weekend in Bristol and decided to visit Tewkesbury Abbey (which is worth a visit). On leaving we noticed this place across the road so went in. We were shocked at all the memorabilia on the walls, ceiling etc it was amazing. My words can't do it justice so I've uploaded a few photos for you to see for yourself. It's not very big but it's definitely worth waiting for a table if it's full when you get there.

The food was amazing as well. We all had the beef dinner which was gorgeous. I don't like veg so asked if I could have an extra potato/yorkshire pudding. When it came there was 6 huge potatoes and 2 yorkshire puddings as well as loads of beef. It was very tasty. I had a scone with jam and butter on afterwards too which was nice. 

This is a family run business and doubles-up as their house. When you go to the toilet you go out of the back door, up the garden path and round to the toilets, but everywhere you look there is the same decor as you can see on the photos inside the restaurant too. You really need to go. Not only do you get great food & great friendly service, you get transferred back to your childhood. I'm 40 and I used to read the Beano, Dandy etc when I was younger and there are copies of these hanging on the walls too as well as old pound notes, records, posters, postcards, photos, old packaging on all the groceries you used to buy years ago etc. It's a trip down memory lane for people of all ages. 

Add this to your bucket list & go for a visit, you won't regret it.
Appleman55
05/01/15
“Good British fare in an Olde English setting with plenty to distract you”
This is the third time we have been there but the first review. This is a popular place with limited seating, so be prepared to try again later.

Food quality and interest is good and high VFM.

The decor will give the 60+ age group a wonderful trip down memory lane.

Be aware that they only take cash and might be the last place in the UK to take cheques.
Alan W
01/01/15
“Wonderful surprise”
Our family of four stumbled across the tearooms after a riverside walk. What a treat! Amazing decor which kept both adults and children entertained. Top notch food (THE best toasted cheese sandwich) and lovely service.
Snowwhite7cotswolds
16/12/14
“excellent venue”
We visited this Tea room a little while ago and it is absolutely amazing. The ambiance of the tea rooms is out of this world and the food excellent. It is a hidden gem - do visit. The owners are lovely as is their idyllic tea room....
Alisoin 23Lufbra
05/12/14
“Superb afternoon tea in quaint tearoom”
What a treat late on a Sunday afternoon to find such a warm welcome and amazing afternoon tea! Amazing ham sandwiches crammed with meat, delicious scones and clotted cream with strawberries-beautifully presented! This was our second visit in two days and the cakes are to die for.. The Sunday lunch looked equally tempting and the service faultless. The location is directly opposite the abbey and has an amazing collection of memorabilia that will keep you entertained for hours-a must visit in Tewkesbury !
Ben L
29/11/14
“Absolutely amazing.”
With the impending visit of my girlfriend I asked my colleagues what we could do this weekend. One suggested a visit to Tewkesbury and in particular this tea room.

As soon as we walked in we were greeted by exceptional service and a fun, frantic and fantastic deco. The food (cheese and gammon toasties) was beautiful and the trip to the outdoor lav was an adventure. We love this tea room.
Doug W
08/11/14
“Definitely the best”
There is not a better eatery in Tewkesbury in my opinion. I have eaten there on many occasions over the years and there are no better hosts than Ian and Pixie. The music is of my generation and is never played too loud and I have heard many a fellow customer comment on the fact that they can have a normal conversation with music in the background unlike some other places. The nostalgic theme of the tea room is fantastic and as for the food and beverage - they are excellent. I do not think you will get better quality or fairer prices elsewhere. To top it off the staff are first class. Ian, Pixie and all the staff are friendly and approachable. The term the customer comes first is spot on for this place. Go and visit Abbey Tearooms for yourself - I will be gobsmacked if you are disappointed.
Patricia Ann D
03/11/14
"Just Wonderful"
My sister-in law had visited recently with her brothers and sister-in-law and had such a wonderful meal and also enjoyed all the memorabilia she thought I would love it too. So on my latest visit to Worcester I was taken there for lunch. Could not believe all the wonderful memorabilia they had on display my eyes were everywhere. Brought back so many happy childhood memories. The food was delicious and plentiful. Staff were very obliging and there was no rush, could of stayed all afternoon I loved it so much. Pity I live so far away or I would be there once a week. On my next visit to Worcester I will definitely be having another trip there.
Gary T
01/11/14
“Like no other!”
This is the quirkiest craziest tea room we have ever been in. Packed from floor to ceiling with memorabilia on all walls. As you sit there you keep noticing familiar things from the past. It's Fabulous! Proper tea and some of the best scones we have tasted.

It's also a restaurant, it a long journey for us, but we may return for Sunday Roast. 
Christine S
22/10/14
“the Abbey tea rooms and Restaurant”
Very quaint with lots of memorabilia of times past on display, there is a small courtyard garden ideal for sunny days.A good selection of home cooked meals and roast dinner on offer they were not tight on portion size and the food was tasty and well prepared and it was clean and tidy .The staff were very eager to please and it was not expensive I would be happy to recommend them and we are looking forward to going back for a cream tea soon. :) 
Ianw
23/08/14
“Fantastic tea room!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 23 August 2014 NEWvia mobileThis is a very quirky tea room. We enjoyed looking at the various nick nacks which evoked many childhood memories. The food and service were excellent. Would highly recommend this tea room.
TimB
22/08/14
Nostalgia and a beautiful garden” we went in for was a baked potato, so it was never going to be a spectacular meal. But what is great about the place is the nostalgic decoration, inside and out. Decorating every surface is a memory-prodder in the form of old newspapers, comics, old 45 rpms, green shield stamps (!), postcards (bawdy and scenic). Even outside in the garden there are old gardening utensils. And talking of the garden, it's a delight. You'll see it on the way to the loo, where there is a danger you'll overstay your requirement, reading the copiously decorated walls and door.
You know, when you go out somewhere with your long-term partner, conversation can dwindle? Not here. Will be going again, perhaps for Sunday lunch, given others' comments.
Barryj
11/08/14
“Must Visit Experience.”
It says in the window that looking through the window won't give you any idea of what's on the inside. It's true. You have to experience this place from inside because that's what it is, an experience. If you're looking for trips down memory lane, ('50/'60s style) you're surrounded by them. It extends from the front door all the way to the loo at the bottom of the garden.
Jantoinette
27/02/14
“Absolutely Yummy!”
We have been to this tea rooms for a couple of years now and it was Always very nice. Have a good look around: this place is full of teacups, teapots, old advertisements etc. You can also sit in the back garden.
The food is great: last time we were there they did a Sunday Roast for the first time just to see if that would work. Well: the place was fully booked it was lovely! 
And as for cream tea? Fresh strawberries: ymmy! Can't wait to get back in Spring!
Ljm888
06/01/14
 “Great end to a wonderful weekend!”
Myself and my new wife decided to have Sunday lunch with some of close family members the day after our wedding. Despite being a Tewkesbury resident born and raised this was only my second visit. We'd been looking forward to doing this ever since we checked out the reviews of the tea rooms whilst we were still living in China a few months before. Needless to say, we were not disappointed!
The decorations were both intriguing and absorbing showcasing items ranging from food stamps and newspapers to vintage board games and humorous postcards. The food the perfect example of how a classic British roast should be done and the vegetarian option, a nut roast, was met with approval from the vegetarians in our party. The owners Ian and Pixie, some of the friendliest you will meet anywhere.
If you're looking for a traditional Sunday roast in Tewkesbury with a side helping of historical intrigue look no further! 
Jan and Bruce (Merrill) Welsh
04/01/14
“Best option for a Sunday Roast!”
The sign is correct -- peering through the window into this Tea Room in Tewkesbury doesn't do it justice. The place was packed which is always a good sign. We did a bit of shopping and came back and managed to get a table right in front. Phenomenal service direct from owners Ian and Pixie and by far the best Sunday roast we have had -- highly recommend either the chicken or the pork! Yorkies, heaps of perfectly done veg and lovely gravies left us full and happy!
The place is loaded with wonderful memorabilia which also makes for an excellent visual feast. It's the only place we've ever been where a trip to the loo is worthy of comment! Our visit was in December 2013 but we've made a note to file that coming back to visit the tea gardens in the summer would be well worth the trek
Munchkinsue
08/12/13
“Wonderful find.”
Thought this tearoom, in such an obviously 'tourist trap' location might be very ordinary...but I was wrong. It was wonderful. 
We went for Sunday lunch and there were 6 of us (including 2 kids). The decor is fantastically quirky, with so much on the walls and ceilings that the kids were totally absorbed in what they could spot. I loved the old newspapers under the glass on the tables...so you could read the news from 1929 whilst you ate! 
The menu offered a good range of Sunday roasts and simpler dishes, such as baked potatoes and sandwiches. We all chose a Sunday roast and they were all generous and absolutely delicious. A great choice of pudding followed.
The staff were wonderful. Service was fast and very friendly.
To top it all - it was great value! 
I just wish we lived closer to Tewkesbury so we could eat there more often!
Healer Jack
08/12/13
“Trip down memory lane”
justifiably highly rated, quirky little treasure of a place. When the excellent food arrives, you are torn between eating it and studying the endless visual treats on every wall and surface. Old records, comics, food tins, Greenshield stamps...Food well presented, great service, atmosphere to savour. There are many wonderful cafes in this delightful town, but this one stands out for the time and effort gone into its creation.
Martin W
02/12/13
“Top Nosh+Nostalgia”
Popped in for Sunday lunch at this quaint tea room, with the leaded windows, over the road from Tewkesbury Abbey..great decision. The food was excelent and whilst the stomach was being satisfied the eyes were being stimulated by the fascinating display of memorabilia. Brought so many fond memories of my childhood and grandparents. Staff were so friendly it felt as we had just popped in for dinner with old friends. Puddings with real custard too.... I am hooked, will pop back in the summer to experience Pixies' award winning garden....many thanks loved it.
Biker 104
09/09/13
“Looking for a Sunday lunch? Look no further!!”
I popped in one Sunday after numerous times walking past with my fishing kit heading to the river Avon, on arrival I was greeted by friendly staff and a lovely warm atmosphere, the restaurant was very busy but the kind waiter found me a table, I ordered a Sunday roast (roast beef), only a short wait and I was presented with a lovely big roast, it's by far the best roast I ever had (sorry mum) :-) would highly recommend this place for a hearty home cooked roast..
Gwenir
22/06/13
“Quaint, beautiful tearoom”
I went here with my boyfriend. We were both pleased with the quality of the food, and we thought the price was quite fair considering that it was home made.

One think that instantly strikes you as you walk in is the decor - very nook & cranny is filled with something vintage or interesting. Teacups hang from the roof and we sat next to an old type writer with what seemed to have a page dating back to the second World War in it. A lot of work & collecting various things has gone into this little place. I haven't visited any tearoom quite like it. 

It may not be obvious as you walk in, but the tearoom extends past the till area into another little space, which then leads on into the garden (which is also lovely with lots of little flowerpots everywhere). 

It's a charming place and worth a visit!
Roger and Jill, Dorset
21/06/13
"A Little Gem"
We always seem to pass through Tewkesbury without stopping, but today we broke our journey from north Wales to Dorset to get a bite to eat. We walked through the town and opposite the Abbey we were drawn to the quaintness of the Abbey Tea Rooms across the road from the church. As soon as we entered the Tea Room we were amazed by all the items of a past era that adorned the interior. We asked if there was a table available in the garden at the back, but at the time they were all taken so we sat at a table inside. However, a short time later a table became available and the waitress, (without any prompting), came over to us and offered the table outside to us. We sat outside an enjoyed a lovely lunch and friendly conversation afterwards with both the owner and his wife. What a joy it was, so if you are in Tewkesbury and are looking for somewhere to eat, then don't miss this little gem!

Pencroft
02/06/13
“Quintessentially British”
A delightful little tea rooms situated on the way out of the town, but well worth the effort to find and not far from the Abbey. They do some lovely cakes,scones and all the usual stuff you would find in a cafe, but also some delightful main meals and snacks. Out the back they have a small but delightful garden area which is a real sun trap. This really is a very British tea room and I don't normally make mention of toilets in my reports, but these are worth a visit, spotlessly clean and really wacky.
Colin B
22/04/13
“your be crazy to miss this place!!!”
Most amazing Tearooms in Tewkesbury! Welcoming outside with a warm welcoming atmosphere inside, with scrumpcious homemade scones (the best ones ive ever tasted!) we were very lucky to have them straight out the oven! beautifully presented with fresh strawberries, jam and clotted cream delicious!...hosted by warm friendly staff, inside is like a museum full of interesting things from the past, could of spent hours looking round, so much to look at! we will definately be returning to try the homemade roast lunches. i give this tearooms a 11 out of 10 all round
Lyn T
02/03/13
“Special lunch favourite”
I visit here with my Granddaughter and the family every special occasion we can: Mothering Sunday, Easter, birthdays etc. The roast lunches are not to be missed and the atmosphere is friendly and appropriate to the season. Christmas Day with Ian, Wendy and family is more like a party than a lunch and the food is always out of this world!
David R
19/01/13
“Best Tea Room I've ever been to”
Fantastic. Wear do I start BEST CREAM TEA I'VE EVER HAD. I go to a lot of tea rooms all over the uk BUT this is the best. From The outside you would think it is very small But step inside and you will go back in time to a old fashioned Tea room All the food is home maid and very nice Plenty of seating I take coach loads of people and every time we go we always in joy it, Give it a try You will be well pleased.

Phillippe
14/09/12
“Well worth a visit.”
This is a very interesting and unusual tea room/restaurant with lots of character. The Sunday roast was very good and the home made cake deliceous. (I would recommend Mr Kipling pay them a visit to see what an 'Exceedingly Good Cake' actually looks and tastes like). If you are in or near Tewkesbury, I would highly recommend The Abbey Tea Rooms for a meal or cream tea.